Support Center

iCloud Syncing

Last Updated: Aug 02, 2014 08:48PM CDT
You can turn on iCloud syncing by clicking just one button, and it gives you two huge benefits: 

1. Sync everything in NoteSuite between devices 

2. Provide a way to recover your data in the event your device gets lost or damaged 

To turn on iCloud syncing, go to the Preferences menu in NoteSuite and select "Enable iCloud." NoteSuite will now sync all your data automatically. That's all you need to do. 

Even if iCloud syncing is enabled, you do not need to be connected to the Internet to access all your information. NoteSuite stores all your information on your device, as well as on the iCloud servers, so it's always available. 


Important Notes About iCloud Syncing

If you've enabled iCloud syncing on any of your devices, all of your NoteSuite data will be stored in your Mobile Documents folder within your Mac OS Library. Since this folder is synced with all your devices, intentionally deleting your NoteSuite data in this folder will cause iCloud to delete all your NoteSuite data on all your devices -- not just your Mac. (There's an error message that warns you about this first, so this shouldn't happen accidentally.) 

iCloud generally syncs data between devices within just a few minutes after you've saved it. However, there are times when this syncing can take much longer than this. If you edit the same file on multiple devices before the file has been synced between the devices, NoteSuite will offer you the opportunity to choose which version of the file you'd prefer to keep. 



Troubleshooting
 
loud storage lim Please see the separate "iCloud TroubleShooting" section for steps to resolve nearly all iCloud syncing issues.

All My Data is Gone 

NoteSuite stores each of your notes and documents independently and also stores a separate file containing a directory of all your files. So, even though it may appear your files are gone, they should still be in iCloud unless you intentionally deleted them. However, on very rare occasions, iCloud doesn't deliver the directory file quickly enough to NoteSuite, so it appears that your files are gone. In this case, we suggest quitting NoteSuite by choosing "Quit" from the "File" menu. Then, wait about 10 minutes, and try again. If your files still appear to be missing, or if this issue happens to you repeatedly, please contact our technical support team to resolve the issue. 


Disabling iCloud

Turn off iCloud syncing by un-checking the "Enable iCloud" button in NoteSuite's Preferences menu. NoteSuite will then copy all your NoteSuite data from the iCloud storage area back into the NoteSuite app. 

Since copying the data from the iCloud storage area back into the app can take a few minutes, be sure not to exit NoteSuite or turn off your device while this is happening. 

After disabling iCloud, it is also a good idea to wait for at least 30 minutes before enabling iCloud syncing again. 


Changing iCloud Accounts

If you change iCloud accounts from Mac's System Preferences, it may be necessary to quit and restart NoteSuite, as well as wait 20-30 minutes, to ensure iCloud transfers all your data correctly. Please do not exit NoteSuite while iCloud is transferring data. 

Because of delays that can occur when moving data between your device and the iCloud servers, we strongly discourage you from changing iCloud accounts too quickly, because this can cause a loss of data. 


Storage Limits

If you've exceeded your iCloud storage limit while iCloud syncing is enabled, NoteSuite will not be able to store any more data. In this case, it is best to disable iCloud syncing (see above) until you either delete data in your iCloud account or increase your storage limit. Disabling iCloud will allow you to store more data on your device, but this data will not be synced with other devices.

Contact Us

support@theory.io
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete